276°
Posted 20 hours ago

After the Party: The page-turning sequel to Ralph’s Party from the bestselling author

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

And in the chaos of family life, Ralph feels more and more as if he's standing on the sidelines, and Jem that she's losing herself. Twelve years after their romance inspired the chick-lit bestseller Ralph’s Party, a London couple is driven apart by misunderstanding and miscommunication. So a few years down the line we find that Ralph and Jem are unmarried, but living together with their two young children. And in the chaos of family life, Jem feels as if she’s losing herself, while Ralph, stuck on the sidelines, feels as if he’s lost his muse altogether.

I want her characters to interact with their south London streets a bit more, to engage with the plantain and nail salons that form a backdrop to the action; it's London, man, there ain't no backdrops in this city. It helps that Lisa Jewell gives us both Ralph and Jem’s point of view, making for a very fair view of their relationship.As they try to find a way back to each other, back to what they once had, they both become momentarily distracted - but maybe it's not too late to recapture happily ever after. Really enjoyed her style of writing, natural flow so it was like reading a chic lit beach read but with depth to the characters so you slowly got drawn in. She sighs again, feeling the weight of things she needs to do now that she has the children for the next few days: baths to run, stories to read, clean clothes to sort out. The story is started with the current situation that Jem finds herself in and slowly introduces the past year and the story unfolds as the reader gets further into the book. In the first, Macy Sorensen meets and falls in love with the boy next door, Elliot Petropoulos, in the closet of her dad’s vacation home, where they hide out to discuss their favorite books.

As a mother, I feel the same when I go out (once in a blue moon), kind of out of place but nostalgic for my "just-me" past. As they try to find a way back to each other, back to what they once had, they both become momentarily distracted—but maybe it’s not too late to recapture happily ever after. Did you feel the same or differently about the kiss between Ralph and Rosey during their night of Christian rock music and drinking? Full of suspense yet emotionally grounded…Fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Carla Buckley will adore this peek inside a gated community that truly takes care of its own, no matter the consequences. It came up on my Scribd recommendations and I was like oh I love marriage in peril books, with no cheating, and this sounded like nothing happened, except lustful thoughts and Bam halfway into the book the wife sleeps with a younger man.

Instead, this was a jumble of completely insane and non-issues that deteriorated the relationship of two people. His ambivalence towards his children manifests in a lack of participation in the everyday routines and responsibilities of family life.

It’s been eleven years since Ralph McLeary and Jem Catterick first got together and everyone, including themselves, thought their relationship would last forever.

It is clear now that this is a conversation that needs to be had away from small ears, and Jem follows Lulu into the den, which is a small painted concrete box of a room off the kitchen and is where they keep their computer. They both live in the same postcode and equidistant from Scarlett’s school and Blake’s childminder, and the children barely notice the difference.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment